The writings of amymelissa


New post 2

Posted in Prose by amymelissa on 02/08/2010

My sire was an alchemist far ahead of his time. I was his student, a rarity as I was female. Females of my time were looked upon as second class citizens, and knowledge was not their gift. But Marcus saw that I was different. From my first birth as Marcellina from which my natural mother passed away, Marcus was the only one to care for me. I was his wife’s only child, and I was special. From a young age he saw my thirst for knowledge and educated me privately. I was his best student, which became his undoing.

I was well past the acceptable age to marry when I was reborn as the Alpha. I did not want to become someone’s wife to bear children and cook and clean. It looked like I was to become an old maid, a burden to society and a disgrace to my family. I was educated, and I wanted to bring a revolution. But it was Marcus’ research that changed both of our lives irreversibly.

I was astonished that he had thought of the concept. It was extraordinary. The quest for immortality had been highly sought after, and yet Marcus’ idea was ingenious. He never explained everything to me, and yet I volunteered to be his test subject.  He assured me it was safe. The thought of immortality was too good to pass up, even just the possibility.

But now I appear like any other young lady in her early twenties. I learned quickly to adapt to the changes and social norms of the time.  I speak fluently over 10 languages and have perfected each accent.  I can be a typical American teenager, or a Swedish university student, or a classy young French business woman. I have spent time on all continents of the world, and no one has suspected a thing.

Leave a comment