The writings of amymelissa


Panic

Posted in Uncategorized by amymelissa on 20/11/2011

I flicked aimlessly through the channels until I stumbled across a movie, not yet wanting to go to bed. It was a chick flick, one that I hadn’t seen before. Within two segments I had the plot and characters all figured out. It was nearing the end and the revelation of the main character. That was when I started to cry. What for, I wasn’t 100% sure. I don’t normally cry in movies. I got up and grabbed the tissues, my nose running and starting to block up.  But no matter how much I tried to blow my nose more seemed to accumulate just as fast. Next I started coughing. Phlegm was running down the back my throat and now my body wanted it out. So now my nose was blocked and I was coughing, breathing became a problem. I stood over the sink as my body retched and as I tried to calm myself. Tears streaked my face as I struggled to calm myself down; as I struggled to breathe. It was a long and tiring 15 minutes before I could calm myself down. I cleaned myself up and finally left the bathroom. Grabbing my phone I sent a message to the one person who knew me better than anyone else. As I composed it I could feel the signs of panic setting back in. Taking deep breaths, this time I managed to keep it under control. Exhausted, I crawled into bed. I couldn’t handle anything else until morning.

Leave a comment