The writings of amymelissa


The Beach

Posted in Prose by amymelissa on 21/01/2012

I sat upon the deserted, wind blown shore with dark thunder clouds rumbling in the distance. I had been sitting on the sand for hours, watching the tide slowly creep ever closer. The wind pushed the waves into rocks that lined the shore, breaking them in a stunning display of white spray. Further along the rocks grew like a staircase towards the cliff face. Sand was blown along the beach at such a speed I thought I could see the shadows of horses galloping in its shape.

In the distance, the clouds lit up in a brilliant display of forked lightning over the waves. It was only in these moments that I could see the sky. The light created a different pattern every time it flashed across the sky. I loved looking at the lightning; it was a magnificent show of the power and beauty of nature all in one.

Turning my head to the right I saw a glimmer of blue sky amongst the dark grey. It was the only glimmer of hope in my life – and it was out of my reach. That was why I was here today. The weather matched my mood, and for this I was glad. Now everyone would have to suffer like me. But I wasn’t going to suffer for much longer.

I stood, carrying my shoes in my hand and walked towards the rocks on which the waves broke. The water was cold, but not icy; quite pleasant actually. I climbed up onto the largest rock I could reach, just shy of the shadow of the cliff, finally feeling the sense of power that had been stolen from me all my life. Each wave that broke on the rock sprayed over my face, cooling the invisible scars. The waves represented my anger and continued to break. Never-ending hatred would continue to break on these rocks until the world came to an end.

He had taken everything from me; my childhood, my innocence and, soon, my life. He drove me to this. Every slap, every punch, every kick – they were all coming back now, all in one fell swoop.  I had suffered silently for years, and now I was fighting back. I was going to haunt him. My death was going to haunt him. His guilt would be overwhelming. Perhaps he would soon come to join me.

My arms flung wide open, I closed my eyes and let the ocean spray cool my face and body. Then I jumped. The cold water came as no surprise to my body and I opened my eyes. The water around me was so clear, so blue, filled with many small bubbles from the waves. The water pushed me around, throwing me into the rocks, but I felt no pain. I couldn’t feel the water slowly filling my lungs; I didn’t notice as I died. All I felt was peace, and happiness that I was leaving.

Leave a comment